ACCM Accreditation Commission


Founded in 1995 by Professor Conor Ward, the Accreditation Commission on Colleges of Medicine is an independent, not for profit organisation based in the Republic of Ireland. ACCM is invited by Governments of countries which do not have a national medical accreditation body, to act on their behalf in relation to the inspection and accreditation of specified medical school/s (aka university / college) in their jurisdiction.

ACCM has achieved worldwide recognition by the WFME (The World Federation for Medical Education). 

The Accreditation Commission on Colleges of Medicine was recognised as working to standards that have been appropriately formulated and applied.  The Accreditation Commission on Colleges of Medicine is deemed to be credible in the quality of its policies and procedures to assure the quality of medical education in programmes and schools that it accredits.  The period of recognition is until 31st December 2026.


In most of the medical schools currently under accreditation by ACCM, the student body is predominantly North American. The Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) is the recognised authority for the accreditation of medical education programmes leading to the degree of M.D. in the United States and Canada. ACCM's standards and processes are therefore aligned with the Guidelines of the LCME.

The US Department of Education's National Committee on Foreign Medical Education and Accreditation (NCFMEA) determines whether the educational programme in a foreign medical school, and the standards and processes used to accredit it, are comparable to those in the United States. ACCM adheres to the Guidelines of the NCFMEA, and represents the countries for which it acts as medical accreditation body at hearings of the NCFMEA when called upon to do so.

Click on link below:
back to top